Your browser does not support Javascript!

How You Can Help?

Your assistance in helping us watch out for unusual plant pests (insects, mollusks, nematodes, pathogens, and plants) is needed and appreciated. Please report any findings of suspected invasive plant pests to the following:




Indiana CAPS Committee

The Indiana CAPS State Survey Committee is comprised of members from diverse disciplines who each have expertise in problems caused by invasive species. The Committee meets several times each year to discuss surveys and educational outreach programs for exotic invasive pests and to maintain Indiana's "Most Unwanted" Invasive Plant Pest List. Data on distribution of invasive plant pests obtained from surveys or provided by State Survey Committee members is entered into the National Agricultural Pest Information System (NAPIS) database.


Download the 2007 Indiana CAPS Meeting Minutes

Larry Bledsoe

Indiana CAPS State Survey Coordinator (SSC)
Extension and Research Entomologist

Department of Entomology
Purdue University
Smith Hall, RM B1E
901 W. State Street
Lafayette, Indiana 47907-2089

Telephone: (765) 494-8324
Fax: (765) 494-2152

Email: lbledsoe@purdue.edu
Web site: http://www.extension.entm.purdue.edu/CAPS/

Phil Marshall

Indiana State Plant Regulatory Official (SPRO)
State Entomologist

Indiana Department of Natural Resources
Division of Entomology & Plant Pathology
402 West Washington Street, Room W-290
Indianapolis, IN. 46204-2739

Telephone: (317) 232-4189
Fax: (317) 232-2649

Email: pmarshall@dnr.in.gov
Web site: http://www.in.gov/dnr/entomolo/

James Manor

Pest Survey Specialist (Michigan & Indiana)

USDA, APHIS, PPQ
11200 Metro Airport Center Drive
Suite 140
Romulus, Michigan 48174

Telephone: (734) 942-9005
Fax: (734) 942-7691

Email: James.R.Manor@aphis.usda.gov
Web site: http://www.aphis.usda.gov

Gary Simon

Indiana State Plant Health Director (SPHD)

USDA APHIS PPQ
1305 Cumberland Ave., Suite 102
West Lafayette, Indiana 47906

Telephone: (765) 497-2859
Fax: (765) 497-2879

E-mail: Gary.W.Simon@aphis.usda.gov
Web site: http://www.aphis.usda.gov

Dr. Steve Yaninek

Professor and Department Head

Department of Entomology
Purdue University
Smith Hall, RM 100
901 W. State Street
Lafayette, Indiana 47907-2089

Telephone: (765) 494-4554
Fax: (765) 494-0535

E-mail: yaninek@purdue.edu
Web site: https://ag.purdue.edu/entm/

Dr. Raymond D. Martyn

Director, Center for Crop Biosecurity

Department of Botany and Plant Pathology
Purdue University
Lilly Hall, RM 1-238
915 W. State Street
West Lafayette, Indiana 47907-2054

Telephone: (765) 494-4645
Fax: (765) 494-0363

E-mail: rmartyn@purdue.edu
Web site: http://www.btny.purdue.edu/cropbiosecurity/

Dr. Karen Rane

Interim P&PDL Director

Plant Disease Diagnostician Department of Botany and Plant Pathology
Purdue University
Plant and Soils Bldg., RM 101
915 West State Street
West Lafayette, Indiana 47907-2054

Telephone: (765) 494-5821
Fax: (765) 494-3958

E-mail: rane@purdue.edu
Web site: http://www.ppdl.purdue.edu

Gail Ruhl

Interim P&PDL Director

Senior Plant Disease Diagnostician
Department of Botany and Plant Pathology
Purdue University
Plant and Soils Bldg., RM 101
915 West State Street
West Lafayette, Indiana 47907-2054

Telephone: (765) 494-4641
Fax: (765) 494-3958

E-mail: ruhlg@purdue.edu
Web site: http://www.ppdl.purdue.edu

Steve Cain

Disaster Communication Specialist

Purdue University
Agricultural Administration Bldg.
615 West State Street
West Lafayette, Indiana 47907-2054

Telephone: (765) 494-8410
Fax: (765) 496-1117

E-mail: cain@purdue.edu
Web site: https://ag.purdue.edu/extension/eden/

Dr. Robert Waltz

State Chemist & Seed Commissioner

Purdue University
Biochemistry Bldg.
175 South University Street
West Lafayette, Indiana 47907-2063

Telephone: (765) 494-1492
Fax: (765) 494-4331

E-mail: rwaltz@purdue.edu
Web site: http://www.isco.purdue.edu

Jodie Ellis

Exotic Insects Education Coordinator

Department of Entomology
Purdue University
Smith Hall, RM 131
901 W. State Street
Lafayette, Indiana 47907-2089

Telephone: (765) 494-0822
Fax: (765) 494-0535

E-mail: ellisj@purdue.edu
Web site: http://www.ag.purdue.edu/entm/EAB/

Dr. Cliff Sadof

Professor, Landscape and Ornamental, Biological Control

Department of Entomology
Purdue University
Smith Hall, RM B1A
901 W. State Street
Lafayette, Indiana 47907-2089

Telephone: (765) 494-5983
Fax: (765) 494-2152

E-mail: csadof@purdue.edu
Web site: http://extension.entm.purdue.edu/landscapelab/

Dr. Chris Oseto

Professor, Director of University Honors Program

Department of Entomology
Purdue University
Smith Hall, RM 127A
901 W. State Street
West Lafayette, Indiana 47907-2089

Telephone: (765) 494-4548
Fax: (765) 494-0535

E-mail: oseto@purdue.edu
Web site: https://ag.purdue.edu/entm/

Dr. Peter M. Hirst

Associate Professor

Department of Horticulture
Purdue University
Horticulture Bldg., RM
625 Agriculture Mall Dr.
Lafayette, Indiana 47907-2010

Telephone: (765) 494-1323
Fax: (765) 494-0391

E-mail: hirst@purdue.edu
Web site: https://www2.ag.purdue.edu/hla/

Cloyce Hedge

Indiana Natural Heritage Data Center

Indiana Department of Natural Resources
Division of Nature Preserves
402 West Washginton Street, RM W267
Indianapolis, IN 46204

Telephone: (317) 232-4052
Fax: (317) 233-0133

E-mail: chedge@dnr.in.gov
Web site: http://www.in.gov/dnr/naturepr

Susan Schechter

Senior NAPIS User Service Administrator

1241 Win Hentschel Blvd.
Suite 207
West Lafayette, Indiana 47906

Telephone: (765) 494-9853

E-mail: schechte@ceris.purdue.edu
Web site: http://pest.ceris.purdue.edu/

Ellen Jacquart

Director of Stewardship

Indiana Chapter of the Nature Conservancy
1505 N. Delaware, Suite 200
Indianapolis, IN 46202

Telephone: (317) 951-8818

E-mail: ejacquart@tnc.org
Web site: http://www.nature.org/ourinitiatives/regions/northamerica/unitedstates/indiana/

Glenn Nice

Extension Weed Science Professional

Department of Botany and Plant Pathology
Purdue University
Lilly Hall, RM 1-347
915 West State Street
West Lafayette, Indiana 47907-2054

Telephone: (765) 496-2121
Fax: (765) 494-0363

E-mail: gnice@purdue.edu
Web site: http://www3.ag.purdue.edu/btny/weedscience/

Dr. Carole Lembi

Professor of Botany

Department of Botany and Plant Pathology
Purdue University
Lilly Hall
915 West State Street
West Lafayette, Indiana 47907-2054

Telephone: (765) 494-7887
Fax: (765) 494-0363

E-mail: lembi@purdue.edu
Web site: https://ag.purdue.edu/btny/Pages/Profile.aspx?strAlias=lembi&intDirDeptID=10

Doug Keller

Aquatic Invasive Species Coordinator

Indiana Department of Natural Resources
Division of Fish and Wildlife
402 West Washington Street, RM W273
Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

Telephone: (317) 243-3883
Fax: (317) 232-7159

E-mail: dkeller@dnr.in.gov
Web site: http://www.in.gov/dnr/fishwild/